Thank you for making me more than I am

Dedication:

This thesis is dedicated to Jacky Lee 1946 – 2011 who never got to read the final draft. You are the determination in every page.

Acknowledgements

While my name may be alone on the front cover of this thesis, I am by no means its sole contributor. Rather, there are a number of people behind this piece of work who deserve to be both acknowledged and thanked here: kind participants; patient friends (especially Lucy, who regularly brought wine and smiles); committed supervisors; generous research advisory group members; an inspiring mother (who lead me here) and a determined father (my personal proof-reader…); and a fantastically supportive partner.

I am forever indebted to my academic supervisers, Dr Carol Wolkowitz and Dr Karen Throsby, for their enthusiasm, guidance, and unrelenting support throughout this process. They have routinely gone beyond their duties to fire fight my worries, concerns, and anxieties, and have worked to instil great confidence in both myself and my work. In addition, both have generously shared their passion for feminism, and their knowledges of sexualities and the body which are to the great benefit of this thesis.

I would like to thank my partner for his unremitting encouragement. Put simply, I have never met anyone who believes in me more. Thank you for making me more than I am.

Most importantly of all, I show extensive gratitude to all of the people who warmly contributed their stories, histories, and experiences. Without this willingness to share, the research would not have even been possible. In the same vein, I would like to extend great thanks to Research Advisory Group members who offered their time, support and commitment. This piece of research looks very different because of their input, influence and expert knowledge.

Lastly, I thank the Economic and Social Sciences Research Council (ESRC) which provided full funding for this work. 

Contributor: Kirsty Liddiard

SourceLiddiard, K (2012) (S)exploring disability: Intimacies, sexualities and disabilities, PhD, University of Warwick

Leave a Reply

