I have received many messages of encouragement

It has been my privilege to work closely with Dr. Mike Swift and Prof. Roger Bowley, I have enjoyed the opportunity to watch and learn from their knowledge and experience. Their frequent insights and patience with me are always appreciated. I am very proud of what we have achieved together, thank you both. I am grateful to Dr. Klaus Roeller for bringing us such an interesting problem to study.

I would not have studied this PhD without the wise counsel of Prof. Laurence Eaves and Julie Kenny, who have been steady hands to steer me through my undergraduate and postgraduate career in Nottingham.

I have received many messages of encouragement from the Sixty Symbols and Numberphile communities on You Tube, they have been a pleasure to read; thank you to Brady Haran for the opportunity to be a part of those projects.

I am indebted to all my friends who have supported me over the last few years: Ben Troke, David Wagner, Anton Piccardo-Selg, Sonali Warriar, Lucy Goff, Kate and David Strange-Walker, Max and James Down, and Andrew and Barbara Crane. I have enjoyed many useful and entertaining discussions with my friend and co-worker Jack Wade.

I wish to thank my father Paul, my sister Ruth and her husband Rick, my fabulous nephews: Nathan, Saul and Cain, who have bought great joy to my life. Finally I owe much to Joanna Grace, without whose love and understanding I would not have completed this work.

Contributor: James Clewett

Source: Clewett, J (2013) Emergent surface tension in boiling granular media, PhD, University of Nottingham

Leave a Reply

