I acknowledge the contribution that Crystal Palace FC and Diet Coke have made to my enjoyment of the last three years

“Certain authors speaking of their works say ‘my book,’ ‘my commentary,’ ‘my history’ etc. They resemble middle class people who have a house of their own, and always have ‘my house’ on their tongue. They would do better to say, ‘our book,’ ‘our commentary,’ ‘our history,’ etc., because there is in them usually more of other people’s than their own.” Pascal

I am grateful to all the ‘other people’ who have given me help and encouragement with everything that was involved in doing this research. The experience of being supervised by Professor Glynis Breakwell has been immensely valuable and I remain grateful for her expertise and encouragement.

Many other people in the Psychology Department at the University of Surrey have formed the backdrop against which this work was done. Particular thanks to Hannah and Moira  for all their help with data collection.  I have also enjoyed the friendship, good humour and good conversation of my fellow PhD students in the Psychology Department – especially Hannah, Patrick, Gerda, Lada, Judit, Viv, Mick and Moira.

As ever, my family have been there for me in different ways. I am very grateful for the support of my parents, Jonny, Tim, Jo, Rach and Uncle Phil and for John’s encouragement to return to studying. The practical and emotional support of friends has also been invaluable. Mandi, Joan, Trudy, Ann, Hilary, Nicky and Linda – thank you! My children have been such a big part of this process. Daniel, Beaky and Sam, I love you: thank you for helping me to keep my work in perspective.

Lastly, I acknowledge the contribution that Crystal Palace FC and Diet Coke have made to my enjoyment of the last three years.

Contributor: @Julieatselhurst

Source: PhD, 1998, University of Surrey

Leave a Reply

