…who believed in me and my ability and encouraged me to be the best that I could be

This is one of the hardest parts of my thesis to write as there are so many people I need to thank. I shall start by getting the money issue out of the way first. This research was funded in part by my parents and also through an ESRC/NERC studentship (PTA-036-2005-00005). I was also lucky enough to obtain grants from the Central London Research Fund and the KCL SSSPP small grants fund for the construction of my research web-site. I thank my supervisors Professor David Demeritt and Dr. Debby Potts for their intellectual guidance, time and patience and Lester Jones for drawing the maps included within this thesis. I wish to thank all those who participated in my research, I am extremely grateful to you all for your time. I would like to pay special thanks to Dr. David Duthie from UNEP for opening up a number of doors for me within the world of biosafety as well as Alex Owuso-Biney from UNEP and John Komen from PBS.

A few years back the teacher training agency ran an ad campaign entitled everyone remembers a good teacher. With that in mind I dedicate this thesis to Mrs Gill Marels, the person responsible for my love of Geography and who believed in me and my ability and encouraged me to be the best that I could be, thank you. I feel at this point it is essential for me to also pay special thanks to Dr Allan Potts and Dr Julian Saurin from Sussex University for their support, encouragement and persuasive reference writing.

I must also thank my friends for being there and supporting me with friendly advice, cups of tea and random conversations about what is wrong with the world particularly, Dr. Lowell Woodcock who has been a great friend, sounding board and general finder of random literature since day one.  Thanks also go to Dr. James Fraser for returning from Columbia at just the right time to help me put my thesis together. To Leanne Brazzell for getting me out of the house occasionally and making sure i ate properly and Clare Rogers and Jo Dickinson for their continued support and friendship over the years, not forgetting their ability to find the correct document the first time you asked whilst always smiling.  My dancing buddies Celeste Korfker, Dr. Rachel Miller and Saskia de Jong as well as my fabulous dance teachers, who should be showered with praise for what they have done for my self-confidence; Hanna Haarala, Karen Hardy and Erin Boag. Other people know them as ‘Strictly pros’ i am lucky enough to class them as my friends.

My final thanks are reserved for my parents, Ann and Howard Quinnell and my family who have been a continual source of support both financial and emotional, strength and motivation and for that I am forever grateful.

Contributor: @sarahthesheepu
Source: Quinnell, S-L (2010) Building Capacity for Biosafety in Africa: Networks of Science, Aid & Development in MEA Implementation, PhD, Department of Geography – King’s College London

Leave a Reply

