I have also been saved many times from depression and writer’s blocks by good music

Working on a PhD is supposed to be an endeavour completed in seclusion, but in practice one cannot survive without the help and support from others, fruitful scientific discussions, collaborative development of tools and papers and valuable pieces of advice.
My work was supervised by Prof. Dr. Ralf Lämmel and Prof. Dr. Chris Verhoef, who often believed in me more than I did and were always open to questions and ready to give expert advice. They have made my development possible.
LPPR colleagues — Jan Heering, Prof. Dr. Paul Klint, Prof. Dr. Mark van den Brand— have been a rare yet useful source of new research ideas.
All thesis reading committee members have dedicated a lot of attention to my work and delivered exceptionally useful feedback on the late stage of the research: Prof. Dr. Jean Bézivin, Dr. Jean-Marie Favre, Prof. Dr. Willem Jan Fokkink, Prof. Dr. Paul Klint, Dr. Steven Klusener. I am also grateful for Cor-Paul Bezemer and Toon Verwaest who provided proofreading and correcting services for the Dutch part of this thesis. There have been a lot of insightful discussions in the rooms and hallways of the Vrije Universiteit with Dr. Niels Veerman, Ernst-Jan Verhoeven, Łukasz Kwiatkowski and Johan Vincent de Vries.
I would like to thank my family that backed me up with complete support and encouragement through the years of research, especially my mother, Dr.ir. Liudmila Zaytseva; my grandmother, Dr. Svetlana Bocheva; my grandfather, Prof. Dr.ir. Alexander Bochev; my uncle, Dr. Michael Bochev and my godfather, Prof. Dr. Yuri Bashmakov, MD.
My close friends’ understanding, respect and interest in my work was also among the most important things that kept me going: Dr. Alexander Gufan, Dr. Stanislav Tsykavy and Stanislav Rezhabek.
I have also been saved many times from depression and writer’s blocks by good music.I cannot name all the artists responsible for that, but the most credit goes to Huddie Ledbetter, William Broonzy, Fulton Allen, Thomas McClennan and Bruce Springsteen.
Contributor: @grammarware
Source: Zaytsev, V (2010) Recovery, convergence and documentation of languages, PhD, Vrije University
Leave a Reply

