The most encouraging and helpful friends I ever had

This journey of PhD research had its highs and lows; yet, I am most lucky to have enormous support along the way. Here, I would like to take the chance to say ‘thank-you’ to everyone.

My supervisory team has been great for the past three years. Professor Tom Inns and Professor Bill Nixon have been encouraging and supportive in supervising this project and the writing of this thesis. Thank you for the inspiring discussions and the enthusiasm toward the topic – I will definitely miss these wonderful conversations!

I am sincerely grateful to all the participants in my research, especially David Townson, Ben Reason, Nick Marsh, Florence Andrews, Gill Wildman and Nick Durrant for sharing the five insights Service Design stories. Your openness is truly appreciated. This thesis would not be possible without these stories and the reflections you shared with me. Thank you for spending your valuable time reviewing and offering feedback on the case studies. Also, from online forums and conferences, I have received useful information and insights from researchers and practitioners from various backgrounds. Here I would like to thank all of you for contributing to the research.

My dear colleagues and friends, Jonathan Baldwin, Nadia Svirydzenka, Fan Xia and Lauren Tan, have been the most encouraging and helpful friends I ever had!

I would like to thank Hazel Field from the Master of Design programme at the University of Dundee and all the students from the past three years, for the wonderful teaching experience alongside the PhD experience. I learned more than I could expect from the teachers and students on this creative and interdisciplinary course.

Finally but most importantly, to my parents, who have always been my motivation and inspiration, even though they cannot be with me in rainy Scotland!

Contributor: @Qin_Han
Source: Han, Q. (2010) Practices and Principles in Service Design, PhD, University of Dundee

Leave a Reply

