Friends and family for being there when needed and forgiving my absence at other times

I have been able to undertake this Masters in Public Health because of the Welsh Assembly Government’s support for deprived communities in South Wales through the Department of General Practice, Cardiff University. I hope that the experience I have gained from this study will help me to contribute to the reduction of inequalities in health in these areas. I am very appreciative of the opportunities available to develop academic skills afforded by the foresight of those who have sought funding for the programmes I and others are working within.

Shortly after I began working in Wales, Dr. John Watkins introduced me to the Caerphilly Health and Social Needs Survey. I am grateful for our initial discussions and his encouragement to study this area in greater depth.

My supervisor, Dr. David Fone, has been very patient and I am thankful for his guidance whilst I worked on this topic.

I would like to thank friends and family for being there when needed and forgiving my absence at other times. And last but not least, my warmest thanks to Chris for his continual caring and kindness.

Contributor: @amcunningham
Source: Cunningham, A.M. (2004) Social Capital and Smoking. MA in Public Health, Cardiff University

Leave a Reply

